D.O.A.-Welcome to Chinatown

Home Reviews D.O.A.-Welcome to Chinatown
This Article Is Brought To You By : Resistant Culture
BAND: D.O.A.
ALBUM: Welcome To Chinatown
YEAR: 2013
Written By: Sarah Mac
Sep 03 2013

Joe Keithley

The soon to be celebrated D.O.A. double live album, "Welcome to Chinatown" is here and it is amazing!

Although we waited, gritting our teeth and clenching our fists, the wait is over and it's more than worth it. "Welcome to Chinatown" is the live album we've wanted all along; it captures the angst, energy and pure power of a D.O.A show. When you listen to this record, you can feel the mood of the theatre as well as smell the stale beer and sweat that is embedded in every one of their songs; throughout the album, the chants of the audience singing along and encore demands are abundant. Oh, and of course, the occasional yelling at the kids by Joey.

"Welcome to Chinatown" was recorded over three different shows, from 2011 to 2013 at the famous Rickshaw Theatre in downtown Chinatown, Vancouver. Twenty-eight tracks to bring you back to your youth, or last year; the mix of songs chosen is perfect; classics and new favorites all mixed in together in perfect harmony. But the facts that this is a live album that wasn't recorded back in the days of D.O.A.'s "prime", and yet, they sound like they did 30 years ago, really shows you how much their music comes from their heart and soul, which is truly appreciated by their fans.

This is a live album that will soon become a classic and most definitely a memorable one. With the rerelease of "War on 45", be sure not to over look this gem. Oh, and let's not forget, also included with this double vinyl, is a bonus cd with three more live songs. If you haven't ever had the pleasure of attending a D.O.A. show, then pick this album up, crank it to eleven, grab yourself a beer and get ready for a riot!

'Cause this, is D.O. Fucking A.

Joe Keithley of D.O.A.

D.O.A. live

D.O.A.

  • Thursday Sept. 5 - Crunchy Frog - Green Bay, WI
  • Friday Sept. 6 - Shank Hall - Milwaukee, WI
  • Saturday Sept. 7 - Reggie's Rock Club - Chicago. IL
  • Sunday Sept. 8 - Pyramid Scheme - Grand Rapids, MI
  • Monday Sept. 9 - The Grog Shop - Cleveland, OH
  • Tuesday Sept. 10 - 2013, Bug Jar - Rochester, NY
  • Wednesday Sept. 11 - Bogies - Albany, NY
  • Thursday Sept. 12 - Middle East - Cambridge, MA
  • Friday Sept. 13 - Firehouse 13 - Providence, MA
  • Saturday Sept. 14 - Europa - Brooklyn, NY
  • Sunday Sept. 15 - The Brighton Bar - Long Branch, NJ
  • Tuesday Sept. 17 - The Note - West Chester, PA
  • Wednesday Sept 18 - Black Cat - Washington DC
  • Thursday Sept. 19 - 31st Street Pub - Pittsburgh, PA
  • Saturday Sept. 21 - Rumba Cafe - Columbus, OH
  • Sunday Sept. 22 - Wander Inn - Mishawaka, IN
Resistant Culture is the development of extreme and tribal music that has weaved the indigenous flute, rattle, tribal drum, and chant into an organic and flowing tapestry with contemporary punk and metal.
blog comments powered by Disqus
We Support:
Git Yerself Some Free Tunes!
Latest Squakings!